Closing Date Extended For 2010 Sa Media Awards

< BACK TO MEDIA starstarstarstarstar   Culture - Media Press Release
28th January 2010, 02:56pm - Views: 964

Culture Media Media Entertainment & Arts Alliance (SA Branch) 2 image

Culture Media Media Entertainment & Arts Alliance (SA Branch) 3 image

SOUTH AUSTRALIAN MEDIA AWARDS     ¹st Floor, 241 Pirie Street Adelaide 5000    Tel: (08) 8223 6055    Fax: (08) 8223 7176

Email:   ABN: 75 630 034 691




January 28, 2010


The closing date for entries in the 2010 South Australian Media Awards has been extended by a


Media professionals now have until 10am, Friday, February 5, 2010, to lodge their award

submissions with the Media Entertainment and Arts Alliance office at 241 Pirie St, Adelaide.

The annual awards, now in their seventh year, were initiated by the Media Alliance to recognise

reporting ethics and excellence and are hotly contested by journalists working across the State. 

Media Alliance Branch Secretary Angelique Ivanica said a significant number of entries had already

been received and were being sorted ready for distribution to the judges.

“We have extended the closing date by a week to give entrants some extra time to complete their

submissions,” she said. “But all entries must be submitted by 10am Friday, February 5, in order to

be considered.” 

The 2010 South Australian Media Awards recognise reporting undertaken and broadcast or

published between January 1 and December 31, 2009.

The SA Media Awards are committed to delivering an Awards program for all media in SA, with 28

categories recognising the varied and rapidly changing media environment for reporters, subeditors,

editorial artists, photographers, camera operators and public relations professionals. 

Categories span all facets of the media, from excellence in reporting in print and online media,

television and radio, to photography and filming and public relations. Entries are invited for

reporting on particular issues, such as Best Coverage of Youth Affairs, Best Coverage of

Rural/Regional Affairs, and also Commentary, Analysis, Opinion and Critique for those writing

about arts, sports, business or politics.  

As part of a major review a new advisory panel has being appointed, including high-profile

working South Australian journalists and representation from the Walkley Awards.  The Advisory

committee will judge its silver and gold awards for 2010.  

Silver awards are available for Best Young Journalist, Best Print Journalist, Best TV Broadcaster,

Best Print Photographer and Best Radio Broadcaster. Winners in all bronze and silver categories

then go in the running for the coveted gold award of Journalist of the Year, won last year by the

Independent Weekly’s Hendrik Gout.

Ms Ivanica said further details of categories and criteria, including the entry form and strict

Submissions are due by 10am, Friday, February 5, 2010, and entry to the awards is free for

Alliance members and $248 for non-members (including GST). Winners will be announced at the

2010 SA Media Ball, to be held at the National Wine Centre on Saturday, May 15. Further details

about the Ball will be released in April.

FURTHER INFORMATION: Angelique Ivanica or Awards Administrator Astrid Crago on 8223 6055.

news articles logo NEWS ARTICLES
Contact News Articles |Remove this article