Sydney Film Festival - Entry Deadline Approaches 1

< BACK TO ART starstarstarstarstar   Culture - Art Press Release
10th February 2010, 12:00pm - Views: 799

Page 1 of 2

Media Release

10th February 2010 

Sydney Film Festival – Entry deadline approaches

February 26 is the deadline for Sydney Film Festival call for entries, including its 2010 Australian

competitive sections: the Dendy Awards for Australian Short Films; the Yoram Gross Animation

Award; FOXTEL Australian Documentary Prize; and the CRC Award. 

Sydney Film Festival will run from Wednesday 2nd to Monday 14th June (Queen’s Birthday

holiday) and will showcase the best in Australian short and documentary production through these

competitive sections, playing a vital role in raising the profile of local talent both in Australia and



“Every year we await the entries for the Australian competitive sections with great anticipation.

Sydney Film Festival presents the first film awards of the year in Australia and sets the tone for

what will follow.

"We could not be more delighted by the subsequent successes of our 2009 winners and

contenders, especially given that Dendy Award winner Miracle Fish has been nominated for an

Oscar®, that all Dendy winners were Academy Award® shortlisted and both our FOXTEL

Australian Documentary Prize winners were subsequently selected for the prestigious International

Documentary Festival Amsterdam.” Clare Stewart, Festival Director

DENDY Awards for Australian Short Films

In 2010, Sydney Film Festival celebrates 40 years of presenting its Australian short film

competition, making it one of the oldest in Australia.   

The awards in this category are: Best Live Action Short Film ($5000 sponsored by Dendy

Cinemas); Yoram Gross Award for Best Animated Short Film ($4000); Rouben Mamoulian

Award for Best Director Overall ($5000 sponsored by Dendy Cinemas) and the winners of

the first two sections are Academy Award® eligible.

Dendy Cinemas (at times in collaboration with Dendy Films) have sponsored the Awards

since 1989.  


The winner of the Dendy Award for Best Live Action Short Film - Luke Doolan's MIRACLE

FISH - has been nominated for an Oscar® in the same category


All three winners of the 2009 Dendy Awards for Australian short films were shortlisted for the

Academy Awards®.  These included Rene Hernandez's THE GROUND BENEATH which

took out the SFF Rouben Mamoulian Award for Best Overall Short Film (shortlisted for Best

Live Action Short Film); Luke Doolan's MIRACLE FISH which won the Dendy Award for Best

Live Action Short Film (shortlisted for Best Live Action Short Film); and Ari Gibson and Eddie

White's SFF Yoram Gross Animation Award winner THE CAT PIANO (shortlisted for Best

Animated Short Film).

The Rouben Mamoulian Award, sponsored by Dendy Cinemas, will be awarded to Best

Director (rather than best film) for the first time in this award’s history.

Yoram and Sandra Gross have sponsored the Yoram Gross Animation Award since 1987. 


People Feature The Lantern Group 2 image

People Feature The Lantern Group 3 image

Page 2 of 2

FOXTEL Australian Documentary Prize

FOXTEL came on board in 2009 to sponsor the inaugural FOXTEL Australian

Documentary Prize, which is open to Australian documentaries of any duration. 

The winning film is awarded $10,000.  In its inaugural year, the jury determined to award two

winners - Martin Butler and Bentley Dean’s CONTACT and Safina Uberoi’s A GOOD MAN

and Foxtel doubled the prize money to much acclaim at State Theatre’s closing night


Joint winners of inaugural FOXTEL Australian Documentary Prize were both subsequently

selected for the prestigious International Documentary Festival Amsterdam, as were two

other finalists.

CRC Award

All Australian films screening at the Sydney Film Festival that demonstrate a multicultural

perspective are eligible for the CRC Award, sponsored by the Community Relations

Commission For a multicultural NSW, with a $5,000 cash prize. 

In 2009, the prize was awarded to MISSING WATER, directed by Khoa Do, which screened

in SFF’s Official Competition 

The Community Relations Commission For a multicultural NSW has sponsored the CRC

Award since 1992. 

The full program for the 57th Sydney Film Festival, 2–14 June 2010, will be announced on 5th May. 

For further information please contact The Lantern Group / 0408 114 864 / 0403 176 988 / 0409 033 121

About Sydney Film Festival

Sydney Film Festival screens feature films, documentaries, short films and animations across the

city at the State Theatre, George Street Event Cinemas, Dendy Opera Quays and the Art Gallery

of NSW. The festival is a major event on the New South Wales cultural calendar and is one of the

world’s longest running film festivals. In 2008, SFF introduced the Official Competition, a FIAPF-

accredited competition for ‘new directions in film’, which rewards courageous and audacious

filmmaking. The Official Competition is supported by Events NSW and offers a $60,000 cash prize.

In 2009, celebrated Australian filmmaker Rolf de Heer was Jury President with Oliver Hirschbiegel,

Ted Kotcheff, Miranda Otto and Lone Scherfig as jury amembers.

The 57th Sydney Film Festival runs from Wednesday 2 June – Monday 14 June 2010.

news articles logo NEWS ARTICLES
Contact News Articles |Remove this article