Entries Now Open For 2010 South Australian Media Awards

< BACK TO MEDIA starstarstarstarstar   Culture - Media Press Release
2nd November 2009, 01:00pm - Views: 989

People Feature Media Entertainment & Arts Alliance (SA Branch) 1 image




November 2, 2009


All media professionals are invited to enter the prestigious 2010 South Australian Media

Awards, the only awards to recognise and reward excellence in all facets of journalism.

In their seventh year in 2010, the awards are an initiative of the Media Entertainment and

Arts Alliance in association with the prestigious Walkley Awards and are regarded as the

pre-eminent awards for journalists working in South Australia.

Media Alliance Branch Secretary Angelique Ivanica said the Awards continue to showcase

the high standard of South Australian journalism.

“Winners over the past six years have set the standard for excellence in ethical

journalism,” Ms Ivanica said. “Our Journalist of the Year winners have gone beyond just

reporting the news by showing a real passion for their work and raising public awareness

of vital issues that might otherwise have gone unnoticed.”

This year Independent Weekly News & Political Editor, Hendrik Gout was named 2009

South Australian Journalist of the Year for his collection of work and both Patricia Dunstan

and Don Riddell were inducted into the SA Media Hall of Fame.

“The South Australian Media Awards provide an opportunity to recognise South Australian

media professionals working in all aspects of journalism,” Ms Ivanica said.

Work published, broadcast or undertaken in the 2009 calendar year in all facets of the

media – from newspapers, wire and online publications, to radio, television and public

relations - is eligible for entry.

Ms Ivanica said, “Every year we receive hundreds of entries, so we encourage all

journalists to review their work and start preparing their entries now before the Christmas


Submissions are due by 10am January 29, 2010. Entry to the awards is free for Alliance

members and $248 for non-members (including GST). 

Winners will be announced at the 2010 SA Media Ball, to be held at the National Wine

Centre on Saturday, May 15, 2010.  Finalists receive a free ticket to the Ball.  Details of

FURTHER INFORMATION: Awards Coordinator, Astrid Crago or Angelique Ivanica on

8223 6055. 

news articles logo NEWS ARTICLES
Contact News Articles |Remove this article